Skip to content

Canadian entrepreneur immigration in 2026: provincial programs, investment requirements and current intake status

All articles

Reviewed 21 October 2026. All amounts in Canadian dollars (CAD).

Canadian business immigration is a series of distinct provincial and territorial pathways, with Québec operating its own selection system. The right starting point is current intake status, followed by business fit, language, experience and available capital. Minimum investment alone does not establish eligibility or guarantee permanent residence.

From our Calgary office, McKinsley-White Immigration assists entrepreneurs with business routes in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon and the Northwest Territories. Other provinces are included below for information only.

Current status at a glance (21 October 2026)

  • Open: Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Yukon, and Québec’s own programs.
  • Limited (information only): Manitoba (interim process).
  • Closed (information only): Ontario Entrepreneur Stream.
  • No program: Nunavut.

Provincial and territorial comparison

Provincial and territorial business routes, reviewed 21 October 2026. All amounts CAD. Minimums are conditional.
Province / territoryProgramStatus (in words)Lowest investment (CAD)Lowest net worth (CAD)LanguageKey notes
British ColumbiaEntrepreneur Immigration: BaseOpen: invitations being issued$200,000$600,000CLB 4At least one-third ownership; 1 new full-time job; $3,500 application fee + $300 registration
British ColumbiaEntrepreneur Immigration: RegionalOpen: invitations being issued$100,000$300,000CLB 451% ownership; community referral and exploratory visit; 1 new job
British ColumbiaStrategic Projects (corporate)Open: corporate route$500,000Not specifiedNot statedFor foreign companies expanding into BC; 3 jobs per key staff member
AlbertaRural EntrepreneurOpen: accepting expressions of interest$100,000$300,000CLB 4Outside Calgary/Edmonton metro areas; community support; $3,500 fee + $200 EOI fee
AlbertaForeign Graduate EntrepreneurOpen: accepting expressions of interest$50,000 regional / $100,000 urbanNo fixed minimumCLB 5Recent foreign degree; designated agency recommendation
AlbertaGraduate EntrepreneurOpen: accepting expressions of interestNo fixed minimumNo fixed minimumCLB 7Alberta post-secondary graduates with a valid post-graduation work permit; 34% ownership
AlbertaFarm StreamOpen: application route$500,000 equity$500,000 or access to fundsNo fixed score statedProven farm-management experience
New BrunswickBusiness Immigration StreamOpen: invitation based$150,000$500,000 ($300,000 agriculture)CLB 4Age 19–59; 65/100 points; $2,000 fee (expression of interest free)
Nova ScotiaEntrepreneurOpen: invitation based$100,000 outside Halifax / $150,000 Halifax$400,000 outside Halifax / $600,000 HalifaxCLB 5Operate 1 year before nomination; $2,000 fee for expressions of interest selected from 1 September 2026
Newfoundland and LabradorInternational EntrepreneurOpen: invitation based$200,000$600,000CLB 5At least one-third ownership (or $1 million equity); 1 job; no provincial fee stated
Northwest TerritoriesBusiness StreamOpen: application route$100,000 outside Yellowknife / $200,000 Yellowknife$250,000 / $500,000CLB 4$2,800 fee; job, operating-period and deposit terms set in each agreement
YukonBusiness Nominee ProgramOpen: selection pool$300,000 (plus $300,000 liquid assets)$500,000Published as IELTS 6 or TEF Canada 4Strategic sectors only; do not start or buy a business before approval
ManitobaEntrepreneur PathwayLimited: interim process, no regular draws$150,000 outside Capital Region / $250,000 Capital Region$500,000CLB 5Information only; confirm current intake
ManitobaFarm Investor PathwayLimited: confirm intake$300,000$500,000Interview in English or FrenchPublished guide requires a $75,000 deposit
OntarioEntrepreneur StreamClosed to new applicantsNot applicableNot applicableNot applicablePaused December 2023; closure approved September 2024
NunavutNo nominee programNo program existsNot applicableNot applicableNot applicableNunavut has no Provincial Nominee Program
Québec business immigration — information only, separate Québec selection system, reviewed 21 October 2026. All amounts CAD. Oral French level 7 on the Québec scale applies to every profile; 2026 entrepreneur fee $1,272 plus $201 per family member.
ProfileInvestment, expenses or deposit (CAD)Net worth (CAD)Key notes
Entrepreneur: innovative businessNo fixed minimum; at least 10% of capitalNo fixed minimumSupport from an innovation organization required
Entrepreneur: business start-up$300,000 spent in Montréal area / $150,000 outside (expenses, not a deposit)$600,000 ($300,000 if already started)At least 25% equity; 2 years’ management experience
Entrepreneur: business takeover$300,000 Montréal area / $150,000 outside (takeover expenses)$600,000 ($300,000 if already acquired)Business operating at least 5 years
Investor$1,000,000 five-year guaranteed investment, returned without interest, plus a $200,000 non-refundable contribution$2,000,00012 months in Québec; $18,241 fee
Self-Employed WorkerStart-up deposit: $50,000 Montréal area / $25,000 outside$100,0002 years’ self-employment in the profession
Canadian entrepreneur immigration snapshot, reviewed 21 October 2026. Selected routes start at CAD 100,000 investment with different net-worth and local requirements. The Ontario Entrepreneur Stream is closed; Manitoba Entrepreneur uses an interim process; Nunavut has no nominee program. Québec operates its own selection system.
Canadian entrepreneur immigration: selected investment thresholds and intake status, reviewed 21 October 2026. All amounts CAD. Minimums are conditional; see the guide for full context and official sources.

Investment, net worth, fees and deposits are different things

  • Investment: money you spend on eligible business assets or costs in the province.
  • Net worth: your assets minus your liabilities, usually verified by an approved accountant.
  • Liquid assets: funds you can access readily (Yukon sets a separate liquidity test).
  • Application fee: a government processing charge, usually non-refundable (for example, the $2,000 CAD New Brunswick fee).
  • Deposit: money held under an agreement and returned only if conditions are met (for example, Manitoba Farm Investor’s $75,000 CAD).
  • Non-refundable contribution: money paid and not returned (for example, Québec Investor’s $200,000 CAD).

These amounts are not added together as one price, and meeting a minimum never guarantees an invitation, a nomination or permanent residence.

Québec — information only: separate Québec selection system

Québec selects its own business immigrants, and every profile requires oral French at level 7 on the Québec scale. The table above summarizes the innovative business, start-up, takeover, Investor and Self-Employed Worker profiles. Québec is shown for information only.

How the usual process works

  1. Submit an expression of interest or registration to the province or territory.
  2. Receive an invitation (if selected) and file a full application with a business plan and verified net worth.
  3. If approved, sign a performance agreement with the province. In British Columbia, the work permit support letter is issued only after the agreement is signed.
  4. Use the support letter to apply to IRCC for a work permit.
  5. Arrive, invest, and actively run the business for the required period (often 6 to 20 months).
  6. Report on performance and, if compliant, receive a provincial nomination.
  7. Apply to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for permanent residence; IRCC makes the final decision.

Exceptions: the Alberta Farm Stream uses a direct application, the Yukon uses a selection pool and a two-year work permit, and Québec selects applicants itself before the federal stage.

Download the guide

Frequently asked questions

Which Alberta route fits a business outside Calgary or Edmonton?

The Rural Entrepreneur Stream: $100,000 CAD investment, $300,000 CAD net worth, CLB 4 and support from a participating community.

Can I buy an existing business?

Some routes allow purchase or succession (for example Alberta Rural requires 100% ownership for a succession); others require a new business. Rules differ by route.

Does meeting the minimum investment guarantee permanent residence?

No. Minimums are entry conditions only. Selection is competitive, and nomination depends on business performance; IRCC makes the final decision.

Can I still apply to Ontario’s Entrepreneur Stream?

No. It is closed to new applicants.

Is Québec part of the Provincial Nominee Program?

No. Québec runs its own business selection programs, each of which requires oral French at level 7 on the Québec scale.

Are the fees shown the full cost?

No. They exclude federal fees, language tests, credential assessments, net-worth verification, professional fees, travel and settlement funds.

Official sources

  • Alberta (AAIP): www.alberta.ca/aaip-rural-entrepreneur-stream-eligibility
  • British Columbia (BC PNP): www.welcomebc.ca/immigrate-to-b-c/for-entrepreneurs-and-businesses
  • New Brunswick: www.gnb.ca/en/topic/family-home-community/immigration/provincial-nominee-program/business-immigration-stream.html
  • Nova Scotia: liveinnovascotia.com/entrepreneur
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: www.gov.nl.ca/immigration/
  • Northwest Territories: www.immigratenwt.ca/business-stream
  • Yukon: yukon.ca/en/foreign-entrepreneurs-apply-run-your-business-in-yukon
  • Manitoba: immigratemanitoba.com/
  • Québec business immigration: www.quebec.ca/en/immigration/permanent/immigrate-business
  • IRCC Provincial Nominee Program: www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/hire-permanent-foreign/provincial-nominee.html

(Addresses shown as plain text. Type them into your browser to visit the official site.)

Talk to us

Full provincial entrepreneur applications start from $12,000 CAD + GST. To discuss whether a route fits your plans, contact Sean G McKinsley and Kimberly J White’s team.

Contact McKinsley-White Immigration